Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the
environment. What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on
animal life and human society?
Water contamination is a serious form of pollution, and one that can be challenging to rectify.
There seem to be two main causes involved, and a variety of damaging effects on people and the
biosphere, which we will discuss here.
Probably the main factor is the issue of emissions from cars, factories and other human
activities. These emissions contain damaging pollutant particles which can contaminate rainwater
run-off and thus enter the water cycle, by transferring through the water table into aquifers, streams
and rivers. Filtration and processing are not really viable options for such large volumes of water,
and so the water table remains tainted with these elements over long periods, as we see in Eastern
Europe today. In situations where soil erosion and logging have already damaged the local
environment, the accumulation can be very serious. The other major cause is accidental or deliberate
dumping of waste products in places outside of controlled landfills or waste processing centres.
Even small amounts of abandoned waste can enter water supplies through the ground, often
undetected.
The effects on animal life can be severe, especially for species which are already endangered
by such threats as poaching, habitat loss and food chain disruption. Contaminated water can lead to
dwindling numbers or even potential extinction, as may indeed happen to the Asian tiger
populations. The impact on human society can also be distressing, including the poisoning of drinking
water, famine or drought due to lack of safe irrigation, and long-term loss of land as we see, for
example, after the Bhopal poisoning catastrophe in India. Such effects tend to have an especially
grave impact on the very poorest in society, with the least resources to counter the environmental
effects.
Overall, we see that emissions and dumping are the main origins of the problem, and that the
effects on both humans and animals are exacerbated by the existing environmental, criminal or social
problems.