Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment. What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human society?

Water contamination is a serious form of pollution, and one that can be challenging to rectify.

There seem to be two main causes involved, and a variety of damaging effects on people and the

biosphere, which we will discuss here.

Probably the main factor is the issue of emissions from cars, factories and other human

activities. These emissions contain damaging pollutant particles which can contaminate rainwater

run-off and thus enter the water cycle, by transferring through the water table into aquifers, streams

and rivers. Filtration and processing are not really viable options for such large volumes of water,

and so the water table remains tainted with these elements over long periods, as we see in Eastern

Europe today. In situations where soil erosion and logging have already damaged the local

environment, the accumulation can be very serious. The other major cause is accidental or deliberate

dumping of waste products in places outside of controlled landfills or waste processing centres.

Even small amounts of abandoned waste can enter water supplies through the ground, often

undetected.

The effects on animal life can be severe, especially for species which are already endangered

by such threats as poaching, habitat loss and food chain disruption. Contaminated water can lead to

dwindling numbers or even potential extinction, as may indeed happen to the Asian tiger

populations. The impact on human society can also be distressing, including the poisoning of drinking

water, famine or drought due to lack of safe irrigation, and long-term loss of land as we see, for

example, after the Bhopal poisoning catastrophe in India. Such effects tend to have an especially

grave impact on the very poorest in society, with the least resources to counter the environmental

effects.

Overall, we see that emissions and dumping are the main origins of the problem, and that the

effects on both humans and animals are exacerbated by the existing environmental, criminal or social

problems.