Most of the people in the society enjoy watching crime movies and criminal TV programs. Why do you think people have more interest to watch them? What is the impact to the society due to this?

It has been observed that TV programs related to crime and criminal shown an unprecedented growth in the societies. Section of folks choose to watch these types of shows in modern days. This essay intends to discuss the plausible reasons behind this phenomenon and its impact on the societal development.

The principal behind the success of these shows is the media. Due to the development in the technology and healthy competition among the plethora of TV channels, they exaggerate these types of issues. Consequently, the viewers are allured to watch such materials, as the directors adds the audio and visual affects to the crime scenes. Moreover, in the contemporary era of technological developments, there are number of surveillance cameras installed for the security purposes, capturing some of the criminal acts in that specific area. These video clips, posted on social media or broadcasted on television tempts the people to watch the real life acts of criminals. For instance, in some developing countries, having high crime rates, like India, the crime movies and criminal shows gets the high TRP and watched by maximum number of populace. Therefore, media plays a pivotal role in the burgeoning of such shows to compete in the market.

The impacts of this issue are equivocal. Sometimes people could be alerted from the bad elements of the society by watching such TV programs. They could be able to take some preventive measures in their routine life to combat the crime acts. Thus, reducing the crime rate in society. However, sometimes if the bad elements are exposed to different methods of committing crime through these. They could have a detrimental impact on the society.

In short, from the above confabulation it is axiomatic that deliberately using the facts of the crime shows can act as a boon for the societal growth.