As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual well-being.

What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Job satisfaction is undoubtedly a vital element, as a larger part of adulthood is devoted at work and a variety of factors influence it. In my opinion, in real life, the expectancy for job satisfaction is impracticable.

There is a range of considerations related to self-satisfaction in jobs. Firstly, almost all working class demand an annual or bi-annual hike in their salaries in par with the market inflation. Secondly, the provision of a great work culture and also relaxed human resource policies, which reflect healthy working conditions and compliance with the norms. For instance, since most of time is spent at the job premises, a well-managed operating environment aids in maintaining the work life balance of an individual. Such fulfillments often reflect in the form of goodwill in their work performance.

It seems to me that in reality, the presumptions for job satisfaction are far beyond the reach of the entrepreneurs to fulfill. In this non-ideal world, businesses have to face a bumpy ride due to ever changing economies, causing either genuine or lofty demands to remain unfulfilled. For example, providing permanent positions to all contractual manpower sometimes may not be feasible due to low profits or due to poor performance of some employees. These kinds of over expectations are sometimes the cause of dissatisfaction of especially blue-collared workers.

In conclusion, a variety of components influence contentment in jobs, but in reality everyone’s wishes related to enjoyment in jobs cannot be accomplished.