Most people think that truth should be objective rather than subjective when it comes to the news. Do you think all news is true? What is the function of a newspaper?

When it comes to the news, it will be incorrect to say that subjectivity matters. What is pivotal in news presentation is the facts and authenticity that it must bring. So being subjective will be a wrong approach, rather the emphasis must be laid on the objectivity of the news. I opine that all news is not true and therefore, this essay will throw light upon manipulations done to show the news as true and also talk about the role of the newspapers for its readers.

The news brought by the media, both electronic or printed, at times, is under scrutiny. The reason being simple. To gain the attention of the viewers or listeners, the media houses manipulate with the facts. For example, amid this pandemic, every country is trying hard to combat this situation but media personnel exaggerate the facts and figures. There has been an incident where the death toll and rate of recovery reported was wrong. This in turn created panic among the citizens. In that country, the death rate owing to coronavirus was 8 percent but it was told to be 18 percent. One of the very aged person could not bear it and suffered a cardiac arrest and eventually lost his life. Hence, it is inevitable that the news being reported must be free from errors only then it will emerge out to be objective.

The purpose of the newspapers is known to all the readers around the globe, hence it must not be ignored. What matters the most is the objectivity in the news and not the perceptions of the person writing that piece of information. For example, in a recent survey by Press Bureau Inc. it was found that whooping 87.6 percent of the respondents read the paper to know what is happens in their country pertaining to politics, whilst 62 percent of them read it to know what is happening in the world and only 25.3 percent are interested in entertainment. Hence, it is evident that the newspapers have multipurpose functions and utmost care must be taken to present truth.

To conclude, it is important that the news must be free from any biases and prejudices of the reporters and hence it must be printed with a good intent so that people across the world know the real facts and information and their sentiments are not hurt.