Music should not be taught in schools instead other subjects such as computer and science should be taught. Do you agree or disagree with this statement.

In today’s technologically advanced world, where enormous importance is given to acquiring knowledge in the field of computers and science. As a result, certain section of the society believes that other arts such as music is obsolete and is of no value and should be removed. Whereas, others have contrasting views supporting inclusion of music. In my opinion, it is absolutely incorrect idea to exclude such a noble profession as ingraining children with various talents helps in boosting their careers.

Firstly, music is considered as one of the purest forms of fine arts and have numerous benefits such as, it improves child’s creativity, boost confidence, and reduces stress related to academics. Secondly, teaching music at school might result in exploring newer talent, ultimately encouraging a child to select it as his career profession. For example, one of the greatest contemporary Indian musician by the name AR. Rahman, who is also an Oscar award winner has explored his talent in music during his schooling. Thirdly, to have an optimum child’s mental growth, it is recommended by psychologists to teach them as many arts as possible. Furthermore, a recent study done at NHS – Europe, has proved that, learning music helps in fighting stress, depression and isolation. Therefore, including it in student’s curriculum is a must.

On the other hand, it is undeniable fact that science and technology plays a prominent role in child’s education and have become basic necessity for students. However, inclusion of these subjects does not mean exclusion of other arts. Moreover, children should have all the various options to select his field of interest.

To conclude, in order to foster a child in a best possible way, it is important to have various talents ranging from music, sports, computers and academics. Therefore, forcefully excluding a specific field, that too such a noble and pristine one is irrational and not viable. Instead, it is school’s responsibility to encourage children to strive hard to learn music.