Women can do everything that men can and they even do it better. They also can do many things that men cannot. But it is a fact that their work is not appreciated as much as men’s, although they have to sacrifice a lot for their family and career… It is said: "A woman’s place is in the home." What do you think?

Since the time immemorial, women have, are and will always contribute towards the evolution and progress of the human race. However, each of the genders does have their own roles to play and the logic of comparing both the races is inappropriate and flawed. Although, in the current progressive world, women tend to compete men in almost all the realms of life. However, in most of the societies, especially, in non-western cultures, the reality is far from this and the odds are almost against feminism. In my opinion, encouraging women equality is undoubtedly a good idea, but, for the society to be much better off, each gender must strive to contribute in their best possible ways, instead of competing or debating on equality.

Women, firstly, are naturally gifted with special responsibilities such as that of a caring mother, a supportive wife, and a helping sister. In most cases, these attributes are not inherently present in males. On the contrary, women are physically weak, in comparison to males. These make the statement: “women can do whatever men can” baseless and do not rest on solid grounds. For instance, physically straining jobs, such as that of construction labor, factory worker working in sweltering conditions are more often a male. Therefore, with due respect to the female gender, it is simply not true of them competing with men in all areas. Conservative societies, secondly, are another critical factor which suppresses working women considering it a taboo for women to work. This is, unfortunately, a bitter reality in many parts of the world and most commonly in the African continent and many other parts of the Middle-East. What is worst, they simply do not encourage girls going to school. Malala Yousuf Zia, for example, a noble prize winner is a classic example reflecting the enormous difficulties for a girl to get educated in extremist society.

On the other hand, progressive societies, such as America, UK, and many other western countries are striving hard to uplift the feminine gender and to a great extent are successful in doing so. Women from these societies are surpassing the men in many white-collar jobs. A recent report from the World Labor Organization has shown that the growth in financial remuneration of women is all-time high, and is almost at the same scale as of men. The day is not far in these progressive societies where men and women will get equal paychecks.

From the above argument, it can be concluded that although, it is a good idea to encourage women to work in all the areas, but to consider them better or even equal to men is simply not true. Moreover, the suppression of women in many parts of the world is unfortunate and unacceptable calling for drastic reforms.