In many countries the tradition of families having meals together is disappearing. Why is this happen? What will be the effects of it to the family and to the society?

In today’s fast moving world, where societies are leaving behind the noble tradition of family meal time. There are numerous reasons behind this negative development and might have devastating social consequences in longer run. In this essay I shall present both causes as well as the consequence of this problem.

Firstly, the most fundamental reason behind families to avoid eating together is lack of time, due to extremely busy working hours in ever increasing competition in the society. Secondly, in the past, habit of eating along with loved ones used to be ingrained right from childhood, which in contrary to present times, has no prominence to such a culture. Furthermore, act of having family meals was considered a way of sharing love and compassion. Whereas, in today’s time it is considered as just another means of survival having no importance. Thirdly, in the past, elderly people of a family used to enforce family policies on younger generation to have meals together. Such strict family laws are no more imposed as elders themselves do not have ample time in their busy schedule.

On the other hand, getting away with such a beautiful tradition will definitely have negative consequence such as weaker family bonding leading to, lesser love and compassion towards loved ones. More importantly, if adolescents and children are not tracked with their eating habits might result in consuming junk food resulting in health related concerns such as obesity, diabetes etc. On the contrary, if meals are eaten together then younger generation can be informed about healthy eating habits. Above all, leaving one habit might lead to progressively getting away with other family activities such as family gathering etc. leading to isolation and in extreme cases to depression.

To conclude, as with many other traditions, the custom of having meal with families is being voided due to numerous worldly reasons. This is leading to various social problems in the form of lesser emotional bonding and decreased love among families. However, such negative trend can be addressed by elderly people of a family by reinitiating such acts of improved family bonding.