In many countries the tradition of families having meals together is disappearing. Why is this happen? What will be the effects of it to the family and to the society?

In today’s fast-moving world, family traditions are changing. family meal time used to be a time where all the family members sit together and spent time with each other and discuss their all day long activities. There are enormous reasons behind this negative trend and might have devastating effects on the children. In this essay, I will share both the causes and effects of this changing trend.

Firstly, nowadays people do not have time to spend with their families. They are pretty much occupied with their work in order to grow the corporate ladder as soon as possible resulting in leaving them occupied with their work. Secondly, in earlier times elder members of the family used to enforce family policies on the younger generation to have meals together. However, in the present day scenario, even the older generation does not have ample time to follow or impose such rules. Furthermore, in the past, a habit of eating meals with family was associated with love, compassion, respect for each other and was ingrained right from childhood which is contrary to present times has no prominence to such a culture.

On the other hand, getting away with such a beautiful tradition will only have negative concerns such as weaker family bonding, lesser love and compassion towards each other. More importantly, if the children and adolescents are not tracked with their eating habits can lead them to several health issues such as diabetes, obesity etc. On the contrary, if meals are taken together with the family, healthy eating habits can be inculcated in the children right from childhood.

To conclude, the custom of having meals together with the family is being voided due to numerous reasons. this is leading to weaker family ties, less emotional bonding and decrease love among family members. However, this can be addressed by reinitiating the acts of improved family bonding.