News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think to influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

In the past few decades, the availability of news has progressively become instant. Professional journalism has made it essential to choose appropriate channels to reach out to their masses. A decision as to which aspect of the news will be telecasted or printed is taken by the editor. In this essay, I will be exploring the possibilities that affect this choice, and the effects of positive and negative news on people.

A major chunk of information has to be sieved depending on the frequency of the news received. Time constraint or limited column inches, determine the content published. Using past experiences, editors choose negative news over positive ones, as the former creates awareness and generally get more views.

Furthermore, the viewers and readers have gotten accustomed to the news with negative connotations. People have gotten used to negative reporting on a daily basis. Anything in moderation is appreciated but when bombarded with constant negativity, news seekers have got desensitized.

Moreover, if news editors published and televised more good news, it would definitely have a positive impact on society but they might run the risk of losing viewership. Additionally, this would fill peoples hearts with the will to be better as new casters embellish positive news. For instance, people in the middle east adopt a very unusual method of spreading positivity. A special daily show is aired on news channels, which honors and appreciates responsible, law-abiding citizens to encourage others to do the same.

In conclusion, news should not be held to a standard of good and bad. It should be reported and viewed as news that educates and creates awareness. A majority of people are accustomed to updating themselves with news in the mornings. News often leaves an impact and a good one could affect the readers day positively. News editor holds a responsibility towards the people and should yield it with utmost caution.