News stories on TV and in newspaper are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

People have different views about the effectiveness of words as oppose to pictures. It is sometimes argued that the News that is accompanied by some pictures is more effective than those without any images. Although pictures can have a great impact on the audiences, I believe that words are more impressive.

There are a variety of reasons why some people discuss that pictures have a crucial impact on the News followers. Firstly, pictures seems appealing to people and they attract more individuals to follow a News by reading the newspaper or watching TV. Secondly, pictures are eye-catching and this is the main reason for the popularity of TV among people while other Medias such as radio are by far less popular. Finally, pictures help fellows to get the gist of the News just by looking at the picture even if they do not read the News or listen to the reporter. To support my claim I can refer to an article having been published in Times magazine, indicates that more that 40% of the residents of Europe just look at the pictures on newspapers and only 4% read the news.

On the other hand, there are some persuasive ideas in favor of the impact and strength of the words. Many people know words as the main source of communication and they assert that its impact cannot be superseded by a few colorful pictures. Furthermore, people can obtain more information through reading a full article than just looking at the images. Moreover, it is not only the picture that can grab the audiences’ attention, but also the headline of the News is the most effective part of it. A salient example of this is the Times newspaper that has the least number of the pictures in it but it is the most popular newspaper among the American.

In conclusion, it is true that many people find reading monotonous but I believe that looking at the pictures can provide us with a shallow information. The magic power of the words should not be neglected.