News stories on TV and in newspaper are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words.

What is your opinion about this?

Nowadays, with rapid growth of technology, news is speared anywhere at least time and everybody can follow the news in all the world. The manner of newscast is different, some people believe that watching or reading news with pictures are more effective while others think that words can convey their meaning alone and do not need to share them with images. This essay will shed some light on this argument from both sides and extend my partial support to the former view before arriving at conclusion.

Texts never can encourage people to follow and read news completely. Adding images or short clips can make news understandable and due to pictures people will be persuaded to read them fully. Without pictures newspaper and TV programs are terrible and the eyes of readers will get tired if they just see words or speaker’s face. Watching news, moreover, without any pictures is like listening to the radio or podcasts and it will be unprofitable if we watch TV for news. Sometimes in some news broadcast they just show the short clips or some pictures and they write on it “no comment”. It means that, pictures can bring messages and do not need any explanation. For instance, when they want to show something about destruction owing to earthquake or any other natural disasters, they just show pictures or short movies and it is obvious that the effects of these kinds of news are more than when the reporters want to explain. According to expert’s research, combination of news with media is more effective in individual’s mind. In my opinion, journals or gazette with attractive and flashy pictures on their first page on the counter of stores are selling more.

On the other hands, some people think that when they show images or short films alongside with the news, they really distract the concentration of watchers and they forgot the main subjects. Environmentalists for example, follow this issue on their point of view. They believe that, if journalists use lots of pictures for explaining their news, they waste more paper and even color, in reality they endanger the nature unintentionally. Consequently, paper producers should cut more trees and finally they destroy the environment, thus they are the fans of news without pictures because on this way fewer papers are being used. For gathering pictures or making clips, furthermore, producers need to spend more money and they think it is wasting the money and time, because news is just for listening during the day and do not need to allocate the budgets to them. Not only does showing the images or short movies about some sad news have a destructive direct effect on individuals’ feeling, but also it can increase the rate of harshness and crime among citizenry. For example, when they show the scene of war or battlefield or even arresting of criminals, people specially children see them and for them these activities are exciting enough and they want to imitate them in reality, so the rate of rudeness will rise in society.

At the conclusion, in my front of view, news without pictures are nothing, and images can illustrate the effect of news.