News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures.Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words.What is your opinion about this?

In this era of technological advancements, taking photographs of various places and events has become easier than before. Some of these photographs are so meaningful that they provide an overall view of the story written in a news-paper or being presented in a program. Images are often used by various news-channels and papers to provide credibility to the news; however, they also provide an overall insight of the news instantly.

As they say, a picture is worth a thousand words and I find it entirely true. When an image is used to describe a story, it makes it more interesting and detailed. For instance, when an Indian news-channel ran the news about India’s moon mission and spaceship program, only a few people found it interesting. However, when ISRO started publishing the images of the moon taken by the spaceship on a social media application, it boosted people’s interest in the mission and they started to follow the developments very closely.

Photographs and graphic visuals are also used by various platforms to illustrate multiple issues such as war, human emotions, climate changes, and scientific discoveries, etc. Graphic visuals and photographs are often used to present the effects of a global crisis in an effective manner. A research conducted by ABC University showed that the human mind is more responsive to photographs and visuals rather than written words. Hence, it is proven that images can be used to convey a message to people more efficiently.

In essence, photographs or images become a vital part and have a significant impact when it comes to presenting something to the audience. They are often used to make the presentation more interesting and illustrative. In my opinion, pictures should be used to describe news as they add more credibility to the news as well as leave an impact on people’s minds.