The food travels thousands of miles from farm to consumer. Some people think it would be better to our environment and economy if people only ate only locally produced food. What extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Food is a crucial requirement for all the living creatures. As humans have the most evolving brains, they have learnt to not eat the same food every day. Hence, it becomes very crucial to the governments of the countries to import different type of food products to keep their subjects happy. However, many thinkers are not satisfied with this phenomenon and argue that people should only use local food products to boost the economy of the country. In this essay, I will review these thoughts from my perspective and will present a conclusion in the end.

There are various countries around the globe, whose economies depend on farming sector and they must export their food products to boost their economies. Apart from this, not all the countries are capable of harvesting all types of crops due to different factors such as different climates and lack of water. Hence, it becomes necessary for a country to import some products to fulfill people’s need of nutrition.

Even though some countries such as India or China are able to harvest all type of crops but they may be unable to produce adequate supply of grains and lentils. Therefore, imports of these products become significant. Similarly, various food products are over-produced in some countries and supply becomes more than demand. So instead of throwing them in garbage, it is always sensible to export them to other needy countries.

Furthermore, environment and economy don’t get impacted by importing products from other countries. It only helps to have better relationship with other countries, which may even lead to far more profitable exports, for instance export of defense mechanism.

In essence, by forcing the countrymen to consume only indigenous food products may not only bring a sense of rebellion but will also harm economy in a detrimental way. In my opinion, government should take initiatives to increase imports and exports of foods products. However, they should also ensure that trade deficit isn’t much to avoid the loss to the local farmers and economy.