In some countries, children under 16 years old are not allowed to leave school by law and get full-time work. Is this a good or bad thing? Discuss your opinion.

Child labor is an offense in many countries and my country is one of them. In fact, the law requires parents to send their children to school and if authorities find any children aged 16 or below doing any labor, a jail sentence gets awarded to the parents as well as to the employer. In my opinion, students shouldn’t be allowed to work full time as it will cause a detrimental impact on their studies which will lead to the darkened future.

However, in some scenarios we may also find parents who can’t afford their children’s education expenses, hence they encourage them to work at an earlier age to support their studies. For such cases, there are multiple programs run by the government to benefits underprivileged children. As a matter of fact, there are many institute and schools who provide scholarships to such students and if students are extremely bright, they also bear their lifetime education-related expenses.

In other scenarios, few parents want their children to be self-dependent and responsible at a young age. Not for monetary reasons but for these reasons they force them to get a job. Authorities can play a vital role here as well by monitoring that children are doing only a part-time job and their working hours are as per the rules described by law.

In essence, leaving schools to work full time cannot be a good way to start a life. Child labor cannot be justified in any case and shouldn’t be allowed as it ruins the most beautiful part of a child’s life. However, the government should also ensure that all children are getting enrolled in schools to obtain a proper education and not sitting at home idly.