In some countries, children under 16 years old are not allowed to leave school by law and get full-time work. Is this a good or bad thing? Discuss your opinion.

The governments of certain countries have strictly prohibited child labour and encourage the children to get a rudimentary education by setting a legal age for full-time employment. At the same time, a violation of this rule can result in the imposition of fines and imprisonment in certain cases. This essay agrees that this is a positive development. Firstly, this essay will discuss how this law promotes the economic growth of any nation and secondly, explain how overall cognition and mental health of a child gets improved.

There is no doubt that poverty is reduced by enforcing the law on child labour and making it mandatory for children to pursue education. This is due to the fact that child labour is correlated to a higher level of poverty and poor parents push their children to work to support them financially. Therefore, child labour interferes with the academic ability of a young child. As education is essential for living a meaningful life, the enact of this law increases the literacy rate and paves the way to the significant economic growth of any nation. In fact, the recent study by Times Now clearly shows that the only difference between developed and backward countries is the literacy rate. Hence, this law is certainly for the benefit of any country.

At the same time, the psychological well-being of a child is enhanced when he takes part in educational activities and surrounded by peers. Teenagers develop intellectual and essential life skills such as team spirit by going to schools. Severe working pressure deprives them of basic education and cognition learning. As children are building blocks of any developing country, therefore getting a basic education by law is a fundamental right of every child and overloaded hours of working at such a tender age hinder the mental growth. For instance, New Zealand has imposed a minimum age limit of 16 years to get a full-time job and made it mandatory for this age to be enrolled in schools.

In conclusion, it is a positive step taken by various legal bodies to impose child labour laws and enrollment of students in schools mandatory at a certain age. This regulation will help the countries to develop rapidly and promote the overall well-being of a child.