Now many big cities in the world are increasing in size. What are the problems associated with it? What are the solution to these problems?

Around the world, mega cities are now becoming giant cities. This essay will discuss troubles we may face with this transformation including the increasing amount of commute time to workplaces and mismanagement of traffic by traffic department of the mega cities. This essay will also suggest solutions to these problems including increasing the number of rapid transportation and upgradation of traffic management system.

People are now much more inclined towards leading a city life than before. With the increasing pressure of people, big cities around the world are getting bigger which leading us to inherent troubles for people who are living in mega cities. Commute time to workplaces are increasing for people with increasing size of the cities. Also, people are facing traffic congestion while traveling to places. For example, in Dhaka city, researchers revealed that commute time became doubled in the last three years only, and traffic congestion is there to blame in the increasing this commute time. This troubles are making people's life miserable in mega cities.

In order to get rid of the problems people are facing, the City governing body should take steps like increasing the number of Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) system and upgradation of traffic control system. MRTs are a successful means of reducing commute time for people historically in mega cities around the world but, the current count of MRTs are not adequate for most of the cities. Also, traffic control system without real-time traffic data is not in place for most of the mega cities. They still rely on old timer-based traffic lights. The real-time traffic data based ultra modern system will help mega cities to resolve the problem of traffic congestion. So, to relieve people from the stress of big cities, decreasing the commute time and better traffic management based on above said steps are a mandatory requirements.

Mega cities around the world will be on ever-increasing in their sizes. Problems may arise in these cities like increased travel time to job site and severe traffic congestion, as discussed in this essay. This essay also discussed the solutions on the problems by increasing the number of MRTs and by upgrading the traffic control system.