Now many big cities in the world are increasing in size. What are the problems associated with it? What are the solution to these problems?

In this age of globalization, big cities are running the world by moving the financial wheel and being the center of scientific researches. As a result, many of these cities are expanding their geographic border to keep up with the ever-growing number of people entering these areas. However, menace like harming the environment and loosing cultural heritage sites should be addressed vigorously in order to identify the ways to overcome the threats.

To begin with, the increase on city sizes is dangerous for the environment. To elaborate, deforestation and air pollution may begin to occur on the areas that became included under the municipality zone. As the city expands, more construction will take places and the heavy traffic and factories will cause higher amount of carbon emission. To tackle this issue, government should be careful and only allow city expansion upon ensuring that no greenery will be affected and only eco-friendly vehicle can be driven on the locality. For example, a recent study from Cambridge University has discovered that city-life is the biggest challenge for environmental issues and these risks can be controlled through enforcing law and regulation against deforestation and carbon footprint.

Secondly, a number of cultural heritage sites are coming closer to the city areas and sometimes these places even fall inside the new map which can destroy the long tradition, cultural value and beauty of these locations and cultural community. In other words, chaos of metropolitan and continuous construction to commercialize the area often disturb the ethnic and historical harmony of that location. A way forward could be to introduce government policy to protect heritage site from the expansion of city areas. If national law discourage commercial and industrial activities inside the community near local heritage site, then such zones will be avoided. For instead, Tokyo is expanding since last five years, but their government was always careful to keep their heritage sites save and imposed 50% higher tax to the west of the city which demoralized the businesses to go to that side. As a result, temples and old town on that area was able to save the authenticity.

To conclude, government should be conscious about the demerits of city expansion as environment and cultural heritage sites are two most important factors for any country's peace and prosperity.