Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety to other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favor of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The subject of using animals as patient zeroes has provoked many debates recently. While some people have a strong conviction that it is a wrong action in terms of morality and should be prohibited, others, however, believe that it is beneficial to us in order to find cures and put other medicines to the test to realize (study) their effectiveness. I, for one, think the latter is sometimes more sensible on the basis of some compelling reasons.

On the one hand, many say that testing on animals should be banned because it is morally wrong to make them feel pain. In Fact, having the rights of living, these animals are the creatures of God, as well as humans, and should be respected. Animals that undergo various painful experiments suffer from the pain, and in turn, is it morally unaccepted to destroy their lives in order to save ours. It might be due to their lack of capability to speak, otherwise, they would tell us how evil creatures we are that torture them.

On the other hand, many put forward the argument that these experiments bring benefits to us. Firstly, some animals like mice both outnumber humans, and scientifically speaking, are perfect for these tests in the light of their genes alike. In fact, these types of animals are not endangered, and can also be so useful to find cures for many diseases that we might contract at the same time. Therefore, under some special circumstances, I think we can capitalize on these mere animals so that we could save the lives of thousands of people. Secondly, despite the fact that animal tests might sound wrong, they may be the only alternative to develop cures for some illnesses to be cured. Thus, with trial and error (clinical trials) chances are we succeed in producing medical treatments way faster than the normal way (procedures).

In conclusion, I entirely understand why some people contend that these experiments are not moral and ethical, but there exist a number of occasions in which we have no other choice but doing so.