Nowadays children prefer electronic games to other games and toys? Why is it happening? Is it a positive or negative development?

In this modern era, with the advancement in technology, the market is influx with electronic games which are not only attractive to children, instead of traditional toys, but also to parents as they are more worried about their kids than previous generations. This development has not only risen the health issues among children but also affected significantly the family interaction. So, I believe that this has more demerits than merits.

On the first hand, I believe that the increase in this trend lies with the parents as they are preventing their kids from a less common event that is, bullying. As playing with them will keep them busy and prevent them from going out. For instance, my mother bought me a hand held game device at the age of twelve so that I won’t go into ground to play. Also, these games are more interesting than traditional toys because as the player increases his level he receives virtual gifts that encourages children to play more. Therefore, by playing with gadgets, children not only can be saved from bullying by older kids but also these games are more intriguing and fun as they gets rewards by leveling up.

On the other hand, although because of aforementioned some not so important benefits of gadgets, the disadvantages of this trend is alarming. Firstly, the major concern is the health issues that are on the rise because of the harmful radiations that emits from the screens of electronic devices. The doctors are already recommending to reduce this phenomenon to save children from the harmful effects of radiations. Also, less activity is involved in playing with these devices, resulting in the rise of obesity among children. Secondly, these devices are responsible for children to be unsociable because they are glued to the games even during meals and family functions. This fact has indicated by a national survey on family interaction and the panel has shown great concerns about it. So, playing with these games results in bad health and the development of unfriendly society.

To conclude, although there are few advantages of children playing video games such as being protected from less often phenomenon of bullying and also these games are more interesting as compared to playing with toys but it is badly effecting the children health and making them introvert. So, I think that this development is negatively affecting our society and we are heading towards an unsociable society.