Some people think that it would be better for large companies and industry to move to regional areas outside large urban centers. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

A group of people believes that big organizations and factories should be located outside the city premises. I think that I believe traffic and pollution issues can be reduced by shifting them out of cities rather than having them inside for some minor benefits.

The major advantage of relocating the industry and big corporations out of urban areas is that it will reduce the traffic congestion inside the city that will ultimately reduce the pollution. Therefore, not only the quality of air will become better but also the noise will be less resulting in reduction of stress levels among people. Furthermore, more houses can be provided to the residents. For example, moving a Coca Cola factory on the outskirts of the City Dubai will empty up the land for the construction of a housing society. Therefore, relocating industries and organizations will not only reduce the traffic and pollution but also create area for building more accommodation leading to an increase in employment rate.

On the other hand, admittedly, there is a minor drawback for relocating to ruler areas and most notably is the difficulty in commuting of employees but that issue can be solved by providing transport to workers either by employers or by government through public transport. For example, DuCab industry has provided pick and drop service to its employees and running four buses daily for this purpose. Moreover, Dubai government has extended the buses and metro routes that links to industrial areas hence, tackling the transportation problem. So, there is a slight disadvantage of mobility for employees when industries move out of cities but it can be solved by providing adequate transport.

In conclusion, although by relocating industry and big companies to villages or outskirt of cities will create minor issue for transportation, but it can be solved easily, and have more benefits than its drawbacks. So, I strongly believe that these industries and big organizations should be relocated to the outskirts of cities.