Nowadays children prefer electronic games to other games and toys?

Why is it happening?

Is it a positive or negative development?

Over the past few decades, there is a significant change in the recreational activities of children. In modern times, owing to the interesting features and varieties, children choose electronic gaming over physical sports and toys. Although this trend is more preferable, in my opinion, it is a negative development as it makes the juveniles lethargic and socially inactive.

To embark on, the crucial reason for the computer and video gaming as the first preference of today's generation is its attractiveness. This is because these games offer the remarkable graphical interface with illuminating images of cars, soldiers, fighters and players which attracts the interest of children towards this technology. Another factor is the availability of ample of distinct varieties of these resources. For instance, a single keyboard video game disk contains nearly 1200 games, thus providing a plethora of options for the young ones to choose to game according to their interest. In contrast, if students opt for toys or other sports, they could find very fewer options causing their less interest in them.

Despite various impressive graphic attributes and numerous types, in my perspective, the inclination of the youngsters to electronic gaming is not a positive trend. Primarily, the over-use of these technical gadgets is egregious for the physical and psychological health of children. The reason for this is playing over computer or mobile involves sitting of long hours which causes inactiveness of body, consequently, this leads to various health issues such as obesity and muscular strain. Secondly, using personal gadgets for playing games to a large extent often leaves the child isolated from their parents and friends, as a result, they get detached from social life. To illustrate, a psychological study provided that social activeness of a 40% juveniles in India has decreased significantly in the past ten years due to their indulgence in indoor gaming activities.

In conclusion, the factors for the juveniles favouring technical games in comparison to other games is the appealing interface and diversified resources. According to me, this is not a beneficial trend as it can isolate a child from society and make them lazy.