Some people like to work for a few months in a year and for the rest of the time, they do what they like.

Do the advantages of this job pattern outweigh its disadvantages?

Over the past few decades, the level of work-stress of people has increased to a greater extent. Owing to this, they are following different ways to distance themselves from these stressful work-lives such as not working for the whole twelve months. Although this work pattern rejuvenates the energy level, in my opinion, the demerits of losing a current job and interest in work, far-out space its advantage.

To begin with, undoubtedly performing the task of one's own interest by taking few months gap from the tiring work boost the energy and enthusiasm. The reason for this is people usually gets exhausted while doing the same routine works and a little distance from hectic life and indulgence in their interests makes them happy and contended. For example, most of the Hollywood stars work for only six months and the rest of the time they spend with their family and friends, as they believe rest from work in necessary for a productive life. However, this is possible for the occasional wealthy workers such as actors and photographers, not feasible for a middle-class working employee.

Nevertheless, despite the aforementioned advantage, there are a plethora of detrimental impacts of this trend. The first and foremost is that a long term absence of an individual from the job can result in their termination. This is because, in this competitive era, employers do not bear the cost of absentees and often recruit their replacement in no time. For example, in most of the multinational companies, employees are mostly terminated after the absence of one month. Another crucial demerit is that detaching from work for the duration of several months can lead to the loss of interest in it. It often becomes difficult for the workers to cope up with the basic job life, consequently, this leads to their low performance.

In conclusion, even though doing no work for a few months can refresh the mind and body, in my perspective, this burgeoning phenomenon can cause job termination and the abolition of interest in current work. Therefore, the drawbacks of this way of working definitely surpass its merit.