In general, PEOPLE do not have such a CLOSE RELATIONSHIP with their NEIGHBOURS as they did in the PAST. WHY is this so, and what can be DONE to IMPROVE CONTACT between neighbours?

It is undeniable fact that the lives of people in this contemporary world have become more isolated as compared to the past. The burgeoning effects of urbanisation and mobility of work are the main causes of this problem. However, by organizing social events and inviting neighbours to get-togethers can improve relationship contact with them.

To embark on, there are a number of reasons for the substantial decrease in the development of a healthy relationship with the people living next-to doors. The first and foremost is the surge in urban development which has made the life of an individual modern and sedentary. This is because, people usually spend 9-10 hours at work in weekdays and remaining time they prefer to stay with family, consequently, leaving no time to interact with neighbours. Another crucial factor is the mobile lifestyle of people living in metropolitan areas. The reason for this is the globalisation, which has provided an ample number of employment opportunities, as a result, employees opt for new jobs and locations to avail higher packages. For instance, according to a survey by the Gurgaon Daily newspaper, 60% of the immigrants living in apartments in Gurgaon change their dwelling places two times on average, every year. Therefore, this leads to the less possibility of developing close relations with neighbours.

Some measures are required, in order, to ameliorate the connection of people living in the same localities. Primarily, the organisation of cultural and traditional events should be done in societies to bring the people of different cultures together. This further increases the respect for others and strengthens the bonds among them and leads to a close relationship. Next, although the life of an individual is busy, an initiative at their end is also required to build contact with the ones living near-by. Additionally, invitations to personal function such as birthday parties, marriage anniversaries, can be given for developing a friendship.

In conclusion, two of the main causes of less closeness among neighbours include modern-busy city culture and frequent relocation of living places. Nevertheless, this relation can be be made stronger by socialising and sharing cultures.