Nowadays children spend more time playing computer games than doing sports. Why is it happening? Does it have a positive or negative effect on their development?

Nowadays children spend most for their leisure time playing computer games and the number of children engrossed in playing video games has mushroomed in last few years. There are numerous reasons for such a disastrous development primarily increase in number of computers, proliferation of internet, and engrossing nature of video games. In this essay I will discuss the reasons for this negative development.

Firstly, nowadays almost every family has a computer and children have free access to all kinds of video games and other obscene stuff on the internet. With such an easy access and least interference of parents, the kids tend to be lured by the advanced graphics and alluring nature of the video games. Once they start playing video games they get disconnected from the world and enter into their own fascinated world. For instance, recent research has shown that children of opulent families tend to incline towards video games at lower age and at higher rates as compared to children of indigent families.

Secondly, nowadays various IT companies are involved in developing video games with attractive graphics that tend to allure kids and they get engrossed in playing those to such an extent that they become prey of various cyber crimes. Such an active participation can lead to detrimental effects on the behavioral traits of children and can lead to depression. Further, most of the video games are being designed on the concept of violence that can plunge the children into cauldron of hate and violence.

To recapitulate, increased number in children spending more time playing video games have a degrading effect on the society and will result in an unhealthy and lethargic future generations.