An increasing number of people are buying what they need online. What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shop online.

Due to proliferation of the internet, online shopping industry is booming nowadays. The growth is primarily due to increased involvement of many multinational companies in online trading and availability of huge discounts on items. In this essay I will discuss various advantages and disadvantages of online shopping for a manufacturer and customer.

Firstly, there are plethora of advantages to customer that includes convenience, competitive prices and access to global brands. Nowadays, people are busy in their professional life to such an extent that they don't have time to visit various stores for shopping, hence online shopping is convenient and one can shop online while doing daily chores. Secondly, with global brands coming into picture and with increased competition, the effect can be seen on the prices of goods. Customer can now compare and choose the product that offers good value for money. Online trading is advantageous to the companies as they offer companies a global pool of the customers and considerably lesser investment. Companies trading online don't require infrastructure development such as showrooms and man force, with decreased investment, product is sold at comparatively low price and the company can clear the stock in few months. For instance, flipkart has sold goods worth 10 billion in big billion sale in just two days and the company cleared the stagnant stock worth 2.8 billion.

On the other side, online trading do have some disadvantages to customers and companies. Firstly, the customer cannot check the quality and material of the product before ordering and it often happens that the product displayed on the site differs from the actual product delivered. Further, some companies do not have proper grievance redressal facility that ends up customers losing their money. For companies, the major disadvantage is loss of the goods, for instance, recently lot of complaints have been observed wherein customers receive stones or other items instead of the item ordered. In today's news one person has posted a video of receiving stones in an apple phone box.

To recapitulate, online trading have advantages and disadvantages to both customer and companies, however, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. With such a rapid increase in customers opting for online shopping, the future of companies trading online is promising.