Organized tour to remote community and other countries is increasingly popular. Is it a positive or negative development for the local people and environment?

With increase in the paying capacity, tourism industry is enjoying the boom which they lack in last few decades. Due to extravagant nature of current generation and increase in tourist destinations, manifold increase in number of family tours has been observed. I believe, this is a positive development for local people and negative development for environment due to the factors described in following paragraphs.

Firstly, with myriads of destinations have come into the picture which offers perfect family gateway due to their attractive features, to name a few, tranquil beaches, local cuisine, and adventure sports. Due to bustling life, people often tend to explore new destinations which can offer them stress-free life and detach them from daily routine. With increase in tourism, comes positive development such as improvement in nation's economy, people well being and income sources. Further, tourism can help remote areas to be proper connected with rest of the world, with infrastructure development and resource generation.

Though tourism is beneficial for people, however, it has detrimental effects on the environment. It can lead to depletion of various resources which are meant for local people and further have burdening effect on environment to generate these resources. For example, recent identified locations such as Seychelles and Maldives offer a perfect destination but owing to excessive tourism, their air and water get polluted causing problem for natives.

To summarize, increase in tourism is beneficial for people however, people visiting these destination should not harm the nature and should help each other to maintain serenity and tranquility.