Some people think that drug addicts should be treated like criminals and sent to jail, while others believe that they should be treated like patients and sent to hospital.Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, drug addiction has become a major threat to society; with increasing number of drug addicts, the treatment of the people is a daunting task. Some argue that drug addicts should be dealt with iron hand and should be put behind bars and some aver that they should be treated as patients and should be given necessary healthcare. I concur with the latter view based on facts presented in below paragraphs.

To treat drug addiction, one should understand the reasons leading to such disastrous condition, to name a few: poverty, illiteracy, unemployment and many more. People start taking drugs to come out of depression caused due to social and economical factors and if they are treated like criminals, it would worsen the situation. In contrast, I believe that instead of penalizing drug addicts, the drug traffickers should be penalized. For instance, a research conducted by Nigeria university shows that after implementation of strict laws against sale and smuggling of drugs, the number of drug addicts has dramatically decreased in Africa.

On the other hand, the drug addicts should be looked as patients with empathy and should be provided necessary healthcare to come out from cauldron of distress and crime. Nowadays, government has opened various rehabilitation centres equipped with all the necessary facilities required for the treatment. With patient consent, the treatment is done without any cost and all the patients are motivated to give up the addiction. For instance, an article shows that with increase in rehabilitation centers in Punjab, the problem of drug abuse has rapidly decreased and number of patients in these centres has substantially increased from last decade.

To recapitulate, the problem of drug abuse is rapidly increasing and the drug addicts should be handled with empathy and necessary medical facilities should be provided to support the addicts to come out of the current perilous state.