Science will soon make people live up to 100 or even 200 years. Some believe this is a good thing while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recent developments in the medical field have increased the life expectancy manifold. Some people hold positive attitude towards this development while others do not. As per my opinion this is a positive development as good things outweigh the negative ones.

First of all, with increased life, the people can enjoy the privilege to live with their parents, friends and family for longer duration and this in turn improve the harmony in the society. People share an emotional bond with their parents and with longer life the bond will be strengthened. Such development will strengthen the social bond among the families and can make the society worth living and enjoying. Further, if people have longer life, they can indulge in various creative fields and can accomplish their dreams, that in turn bring a sense of achievement in them.

Turning to other side of the argument, increased older population will put the economical burden on the government as government has to spend money on maintenance of the aged population. More health care schemes and hospitals have to be introduced. Further, government has to pay the pension to all the aged population which will further hamper the country's growth as it will lead to budget cutting for other important sections. Increased life expectancy will further lead to increase in the population and hence shortage of resources.

Increased life expectancy can be very difficult situation for government to tackle, however, I believe that this is positive development as one can enjoy his life with his family and if infrastructure and policies were introduced by government then this trend can bring joy and happiness to our society.