Nowadays congestion and traffic jams are a common and major problem in most cities. Some people believe it is a good idea to construct wider roads to resolve this issue. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? What can be the solution, in your opinion?

It is certainly true that heavy traffic has become one of the major problems in large cities. while many thinks that making the roads wider will solve the congestion problem. However, Constructing wider roads may help to an extent, I do not agree that this could completely solve the issue.

One main reason for traffic congestion is narrow roads. These narrow roads sometimes form short-cut to the destination in urban areas. Most people trying to avoid traffic signals present on the main roads take the narrow roads which eventually leads to jams. Suppose if these roads are made wider than the citizens can save time using short routes as well as vehicles will move with the flow without congesting the road. So, constructing the roads with larger width is one of the solution to avoid traffic congestion.

There are many other options to avoid traffic jam problem. One of them is limiting the use of own vehicles and using public transport as much as possible. People travelling to shorter distances can use public transport like bus or train instead of using their own car or bike and adding to the number of vehicles already on road. Firstly, it will make the traffic less on the road. Secondly,we can also mitigate the air and noise pollution, the lesser the number of auto mobiles the lesser the pollution.

In conclusion, building larger roads, use of public transport as much as we can or occasionally are few of the solutions to avoid traffic congestion and jams.