Nowadays congestion and traffic jams are a common and major problem in most cities. Some people believe it is a good idea to construct wider roads to resolve this issue. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? What can be the solution, in your opinion?

In the age of urbanisation, population in the cities is increasing rapidly. This abrupt increment of people has lead to many problems as authorities were not ready to handle this change. One of such problems in traffic and this is getting more congested. Some people suggest establishment to wider roads as flow of cars will increase, however, I believe that this is only a temporary solution and government should adopt other methods to solve the problem of traffic.

Admittedly, constructing more number of lanes will increase flow of traffic, but it should not be forgot that either roads are covered by trees on the both sides or there are number of shops. In both the cases, government can not afford as the shops are very costly and trees are helping to control the pollution and cutting them will lead to crisis. Apart from that, with the rate population in cities is increasing, sooner similar congestion can be seen and it will hard to control at that stage of time.

In order to control traffic, authorities should take some promising steps. Odd Even rule started by Delhi Government is one of such steps which should be made permanent. Afterthat, vehicles on roads should be restricted and no cars should be allowed in the city centres. This will not only control traffic but will also help in preventing road accidents. Furthermore, establishment should spend major part of their revenue on the public transport so that it become convincible and commutable. Singapore Government has done a commendable job in this regard.

In retrospection, it is clear that widening of roads is not a solution but authorities should adopt some aforementioned ways to control unless, it will be difficult to control at a later stage.