Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks.

Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

With the inception of technology, an incredible change has occurred in the life style of individuals as they prefer to make relations online. Due to this, social websites has become attractive and they post their sensitive personal data online. In the same context, many people claim that it can be risky as such websites are prime target for hackers and they can leak information while many other opine this. Pros and cons of social media platforms should be scrutinised before forming any opinion.

Admittedly, with the help of social media websites such as Twitter, Facebook etcetera we can connect to any people sitting in any part of world. These websites not only help to form bond between people but on many occasions, establishments has used them to aware people about crisis or to inform about new strategies. To substantiate it, Indian Government started Swach Bharat Abhivan also known as Cleanliness mission and they use Twitter to promote it all around the country. Eventheless, such websites has promoted freedom of speech as they allow to publish their views online.

however, many nasty comments can also be seen on posts which disgrace human race. This has also resulted into depression and suicides in many cases. Apart from that, such websites can be hacked and all the data on their servers are leaked online. For illustration, 1.6 million Yahoo accounts were hacked and many affected people lost plethora of money and many blackmailing cases were also reported. Moreover, many terrorists have also use these platform to influence others and successfully made people to join their organisation.

Having dwelled on such thoughts, it is clear that social media is like a beautiful rose with some thrones. People should use these websites as they are fruitful and creators should continue to make them more secure.