Nowadays congestion and traffic jams are a common and major problem in most cities. Some people believe it is a good idea to construct wider roads to resolve this issue. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? What can be the solution, in your opinion?

One of the most controversial issues among the authorities of mega cities is the traffic congestion which is on the increase all over the globe and have detrimental effects on the environment and the inhabitants of these urban areas. While a group of people argue that constructing wider roads would be a solution for this problem, I believe that this is just a temporary solution and it will not tackle the problem. There are various solutions and government should address the problem by limiting the car usage and providing a safe public transportation.

There are some reasons why I would argue that building more roads is not a wise solution for this problem. Firstly, more constructions means destroying the nature and unspoiled environment which is a threat for wild life. Secondly, building wider roads motivates more people to drive their own cars rather than using the public transportation and it will lead to a severe problem which is air pollution that is caused by the exhaust fumes of the cars and greenhouse gas emissions. Finally, by constructing more roads the cities would be uninhabitable in the future and it seems not to be environmentally friendly.

The best solution for this dilemma is providing a profitable public transportation that is safe and affordable for people by building undergrounds and developing the bus system. Furthermore, governments should impose strict restriction in car usage and curb the number of cars in main streets that are always crowded. Moreover, they should develop metropolitan cities in rural areas by building new shopping centers and hospitals and recreational facilities in the country sides of big cities.

In conclusion, I believe not only the government but also the residents of big cities are responsible about the next generation and should tackle the problem by educating people and children and making awareness about the consequences of this issue.