Nowadays consumer goods are cheaper to buy. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Currently, it is more affordable for citizens to purchase consumer products. While there are some obvious benefits of this tendency, I would argue that cheaper goods would bring about much more drawbacks.

To begin with, cheaper products do wonders for individuals due to some main points. First of all, since the price of the household stuff is lower, these families would not be put on the financial problem which might not make them involve in multiple jobs in order to afford high daily expenses. As a result, parents could spend more time educating and playing with their children, which they frequently could not receive from their close people in hectic lives nowadays. Second, cheaper goods might encourage consumers to go shopping more, which could enhance the revenues of those manufacturers. For instance, I would like to purchase more staple foods when these products are on sale or cheaper than normalcy. Therefore, making goods cheaper is also a way to boost the need of consumers, which helps to enhance those companies’ interests.

However, I believe that there would appear some permanent disadvantages when goods are cheaper. First and foremost, every company tries to attract more consumers by reducing the price of their products, which leads to an incredibly competitive trade market amongst those brands. Consequently, this creates an imbalance in the national economy because of the frequently unstable prices. If these companies do not put down the price of their products, they could not compete with others. Furthermore, as the price of those products still relies on other factors such as ingredients or processing costs, making these goods more affordable could affect the existence of those factories. This might discourage people to start up because of the high risks which are caused by rival brands.

In conclusion, while more affordable household goods could create some obvious merits, I need to admit that this trend could bring more negative impacts to manufacturers.