Nowadays a few people take their family with them to abroad whenever they go for a business trip What are the advantages and disadvantages on them and on their family

Thanks to faster transportation means, like bullet trains and jets, travelling these days has become commonplace. People move not only for pleasure but sometimes they have to take a trip for business purpose. Health professionals, scientists, salesmen all of these figures once in a while attend to conferences and workshops to sell products, to deliver a speech or just to keep up to date. It has been observed however that in many cases these people prefer to travel alone rather than taking their families with. In this essay I will examine the plus and the minus of this approach and explain why I think that it is better to take a business trip alone.

The reasons people go for a business trip are several: some have to give a speech or a presentation to convince the audience to buy a product or they have to illustrate the latest discoveries in medical field. Others take part to seminars to stay informed about the newest technologies or to gain specific skills they can eventually turn to in their job. As we can easily understand from the previous lines, attention,focus and energy are needed in order to obtain the best result from a business trip. Sometimes a successful trip can be the key to obtain a promotion or to achieve a deeper knowledge. Taking with the family can be thus a source of distraction that can lead to low performance and poor results.

Another aspect that we should take into account are the costs linked to a business trip. Usually companies reimburse the cost sustained by the employees but at the same time they establish a clear upper limit for expenses. In many cases employees are allowed to stay only in low-budget hotels or to travel only second class. Extra cost for family members will not be covered so that the employee will have to pay on his own for it. This is also a valid reason that leads people to travel alone.

In conclusion, I think that going on business trip should be taken seriously because it can represent the turning point of a career in a positive as well as in a negative way. Employees need to be focused on the goal and do not need distractions or trouble created by the family. The financial aspect plays also an instrumental role, since companies only cover the strict costs that are essential for the business trip.