Nowadays many countries have very cosmopolitan cities with people from all over the world. How can the government ensure that all these people can live together harmoniously?

In today’s cosmopolitan world it is unusual to find a major city or country where there are no immigrants. People travel more now than they ever did in the past and the populations have had to adapt to this transitional life style much more quickly than in the past. Ultimately, society as a group of individuals, directs the way that new arrivals in a country are treated. But the government can do many things to support this.

Firstly, all governments should insist the schools teach history and culture from more than one country, not just the home nation. By learning how others have lived we gain insight into alternative cultures and ways of life which makes us more accepting when we meet people from those countries. Of course, we don’t have time to learn about the history of every country in the world by understanding at least one other culture opens our minds and makes us more tolerant.

In addition, when immigrant choose to settle in a country, the host government should offer free language and culture lessons. It is impossible for new arrivals to integrate if they do not understand the language and habits of their new home. I believe it is important for immigrants to learn the culture of the place they have chosen to settle. By acquiring the language and knowledge of their culture, they will be able to integrate more easily and comfortably without necessarily losing their own identity.

Finally, the governments of countries should make sure that they have some stringent laws to protect people from aggression or prejudice so that, should an immigrant face terrible attitudes, they have some protection. By ensuring people feel safe the host country shows that it is civilized and promotes integration.

In summary, understanding others is the key to harmonious living but laws should also be in place to protect people from those who can’t behave responsibly.