Nowadays many jobs are more stressful and the working day is longer. What are the reasons for this? What can employers do to help employees?

It is a fact that working hours are getting longer and the work pressure is getting more intense these days. There are various reasons that have caused the situation and there are some things that employers can do to help their staffs. The following essay will discuss them in details.

For a number of reasons, people’s working hours are getting longer and jobs are getting more stressful nowadays. Firstly, it is due to the tight competition in the labour market. As the supply of labour is higher than the demand, it means that there are more people who are looking for jobs and employers could be selective in hiring their potential employees. As a result, employers would select labours who are multiple talents, could work for long hours and could handle many tasks. Secondly, as business competition become tougher these days, companies are working in a more effective and efficient manners. Consequently, there will be less manpower in many companies, which means they only recruit selected people who can do many things at once and could work long hours.

There are several things that employers could do to solve the problem. It is believed that exercises could reduce stress level, therefore many companies are providing fitness centre in their office these days. This facility can be used by their employees outside of the working hours for free and it is hoped that employees could maintain their health condition. And then, employers could also hire unpaid internship to assist their employees. It is expected that with the assistance of internships, it would reduce the workload and working hours of employees.

To sum up, it is a fact that works are more stressful and take longer hours these days. To solve the issue, there are some things that employers could do, and one of them is providing gym facilities to employees for reducing their stress level. Another thing is that employers could also recruit unpaid internship to assist employees as it would reduce the long working hours.