Nowadays many students live with their families while others go to another city to study at a university. Discuss advantages and disadvantages of both scenarios. Include relevant examples in your answer.

In this contemporary and competitive world, majority of students are moving out of their towns for further studies and professional courses in universities. However, some prefer to live with their loved ones and serve their own town. This essay would discuss both positive and negative aspects of both.

Many opine that students who live alone are more independent in taking care of themselves and are much adaptive to the diverse culture of the university. In addition, to gain better knowledge and to adapt specific skills, students tend to migrate to another cities in pursue of better future. For example, to become a doctor in specific field such as neurosurgery or orthopedic one needs to pursue the studies in that specific subject which may not be available in their hometown. However, this also may have a negative impact on their families. In urge to make a better future students move out of their house, leaving their parents behind with the feeling of loneliness. This may lead to depression or depreciation of their parent’s health with growing age.

On the other hand there are some students who choose to live with their families. In this scenario students have the advantage of been taken care by their family members. Also the cost of living in the hometown is certainly less when it comes to staying with families. For instance, students living alone or at university hostels pay a lot for their accommodation and have extra expenditures in comparison to those living with their families. But at the same time, those who choose to stay with their families loose on the opportunity to take up the better courses which may help them to shape their career.

To conclude, every individual has its own priority in making this tough decision. Some may find it beneficial to move out for their personal growth and some find it useful to be around their loved ones.