Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view.

Nowadays, government is more focused on retaining the art of the country and therefore spending more money in protecting and enhancing the heritage of the country. However, few people are of the concern that spending money on art is not an investment instead is a wastage and government should rather spend on other development activities in the economy. I agree to a certain extent that it is important to spend time and money to save the art of any country and the essay will discuss this in details.

It is an irrefutable fact that government of any country is always focused in retaining the art of the country to help citizens and young generation know more about the history of their country. Our ancestors devoted plenty of time and money in constructing certain monuments which are backed by some or other story and it is important for the new generation to understand the history behind it so that the legacy continues. Furthermore, any economy will thrive in the presence of art rich culture and monuments by attracting more tourists in the country. For example, country like India is rich in heritage and art as reflected in their diverse culture is attracting tourism in different states which therefore helps in the providing more opportunities to the citizens for development.

Contradicting to this, few people are of the opinion that government is wasting the money in art and instead should be focusing more on the concern areas like medical treatments, education facilities, and job opportunities. People should understand that the government has fixed budget allocated to all areas and work in the ambit of same without overspending in any particular department. By developing the art and history would help in generating income in the country which will further add to the surplus of the government so that this money can be utilized.

Government should take steps in converting the art and monuments to tourist attractions which will help in generating revenue and thus the funds can be utilized in activities like building educational institutes, medical facilities which in turn will help in the development of the economy. To conclude, people should understand the importance of an art rich heritage so that they should be able to pass the knowledge about the history to the coming generation.