Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view.

Art is increasingly treated as backward skill in front of other requirements. A handful of people believes that government should better utilize money in other areas which are critical, rather than spending it in promoting art. In my opinion, while there is no denying that other areas are important, art equally plays a vital role in creating a generation with a creative mindset and also depicting country's culture.

Life essential things such as utilities, healthcare that is still not reached out in the poor part of society should be first looked into before spending money on art. Unless life's critical items are not available to everyone, it really does not make sense to allocate some percentage of government funding to encourage art and its related aspects. Government being a central body, the people expect from it to furnish common services at its best instead of providing financial help in other sectors. Overall, spending money on art would be otherwise wasted if basic needs are not provided to all layers of society by government bodies.

Even though strong arguments are provided on why the government should not spend money on art, I believe that art helps to bring out creativity to a great extent. Money spends on art-related initiatives encourage artistic minds to come up with more creative ideas and thoughts. Without the development of creative and imaginative thinking, one will struggle to grow dynamic and individual thinker when it reaches adulthood. Add to it, next-generation learns from art pieces about the rich culture and history of any country. It means financial help to promote art will not be waste as art helps to build personality and to learn more about the unique culture and history.

In conclusion, the foregoing discussion validates my perspective that while there is no denying that the government needs to focus more on providing basic necessities to a larger crowd, it will be foolish not to consider valuable things art brings in our lives and in society as a whole.