Nowadays more and more people want to live by themselves. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative trend?

These days, the masses lead the lifestyle that suits their personality best. Some people thus opt for living in solitude because they consider this method the best way to achieve independence. This essay aims to investigate the mentioned view and then present the chief reasons why it is a negative trend.

One aspect which many people assert justifies solitary life can be identified as independence. When people live alone, they do not have to tolerate other’s opinion, and live their lives according to their expectation or rely on them, allowing these individuals to lean on their own competency and follow their interest. A paper published by John Doe, a world-renowned psychologist, reveals that an overwhelming majority of younger generation tend to live alone to relieve themselves from parents’ pressure and to follow their own dream. While this explanation seems irrefutable, there are some thoughts that suggest this developing trend is detrimental.

Another angle of thoughts on this lifestyle illustrates it is a negative development. Firstly, it is dangerous to live alone due to the fact that no one would be present if some incident were to occur. My late uncle, for instance, was living alone when he had a stroke, and because he did not have a helping hand, unable to call the emergency, he passed away. Moreover, living alone might cause social destitution. This is because when people are alone, their interpersonal skills will not develop, thereby preventing them from being able to interact naturally with others, which in turn leaves them socially destitute. Statistics of a study conducted by the Yale University, for example, acknowledge more than 73 percent of young professionals who live by themselves find it difficult to befriend with their colleagues. This highlights the detrimental outcome of living alone.

All in all, even though it is clear that people have a tendency to pursue independence by living alone, this trend has detrimental outcomes such as endangering one’s life or deteriorating effect on one’s social life, which render it a negative development.