Nowadays, more people prefer to communicate via text message and email instead of face to face.

Why do you think this is? When is face to face to face communication necessary?

Over the last few decades, the advancement in technology has changed the way people communicate. These days, a lot of people choose to interact with each other by means of text message and emails rather than face to face. This essay will discuss the reasons associated with this trend. This essay will also discuss the need when face to face communication becomes inevitable.

One of the major reasons for people choosing emails or text message mode over meeting personally to communicate is convenience. People can communicate instantly with anyone from anywhere via emails and SMS. They no longer need to go anywhere or spend time just to convey their message or inform about any important events. In addition, communication through emails or text message save cost as well. People can interact with their colleagues or family members just by messaging apps such as Whatspp or emails which is very cheap as it only needs internet connection. For instance, whenever the employer needs to connect his employees he can simply send emails to discuss important topics or can send text messages instantly without wasting time and money to meet them personally. In other words, because of the enormous time and cost saving that it allows, people prefer to interact via SMS or email rather than meeting face to face.

However, there are various factors such as effectiveness and developing strong relationship where face to face communication is inevitable. Face to Face communication and in person meetings can boost efficiency instead of spending an entire day in sending mail back and forth, and can effectively communicate by his facial expression and body language. In addition, people need to spend more time in person to create genuine bond. Direct contact creates sense of understanding that makes people more conformable with one another and develop strong relations between them. For instance, a manager can build strong bond and communicate effectively with his sub-ordinates and only when he meets them personally to ensure that message or instructions are conveyed properly. In short, meeting in person develops effective communication and strong relationship.

To sum-up, although technology can ease individual life by offering cost and time saving, in certain cases where effectiveness and relationship matters human’s personal interaction becomes inexorable.