Nowadays more tasks at home and work are being performed by robots. why do you think it is happening. Is it negative or positive development?

The focus of the invention of machine is to make doing work easier for man. The basic definition of a machine is a device that makes doing work easier. It is therefore a little wonder today that most tasks at home and work are being performed by robots. A robot is a machine. It functions to assist man in carrying out various kind of works.

The use of robots can be found in various parts of human life and endeavors. For example, in the medical field, some robots are designed to perform specific operations on patients, to give drugs and other provisions, including food to those who are admitted into the isolation camps as a result of infectious diseases.

There are robots designed to assist with chores in the home; they can sweep the floor, vacuum clean carpets, wash dishes, do some laundries and even serve food.

Bots are used in vehicle assembly plants for the manufacturing of automobiles and they deliver with almost error free precision.

We have robots that are used in iron melting and manufacturing, these robots are able to work under conditions that are severely impossible for humans- high temperature and pressure, corrosive chemical handling, high altitude and harsh terrains, medical isolation camps while we also have robots that are manufactured for sporting reasons- gladiators, fighters. Some robots even assist during wars.

Although there is a fine line between the dangers posed by the increasing use of robots to replace humans. For example, the use of robots for household chores may deprive children of the valuable lessons of basic housekeeping and develop stamina, the use of robots in some industrial processed may lead to job cuts in the near future and most importantly, some robots like the human android can develop complications that may cause them to become violent and lead to fatality of the human handlers.

Despite the highlighted drawbacks, I still believe the use of robots by humans has some strong points. For instance, the entertainment derived by humans from the gladiator sports can still be sustained, only that rather than destroy humans, robots are employed for action. Also, for furnace related activities where it is practically impossible for humans to work without fatality because of the very high temperature, the use of robots is a huge advantage. In addition to this, scientists who would want to explore the outer space are able to use robots to collect first samples and carry out the trial expeditions before humans can decide on whether it is worth the adventure. Moreover, robots can be used industrially to lift heavy loads, electronically to solder joints with precisions that are beyond human capability.

While noting that not streamlining the areas of use of robots in human spheres of endeavors may lead to some redundancy and other dangers in this age when job creation for human is the main responsibility of every government, the use of robots cannot be eradicated as its merits outweighs whatever is considered its demerit.