Tourism is becoming increasingly important as a source of revenue to many countries but its disadvantages should not be overlooked

It is now an established statistical fact that more countries are recording rising revenues from the tourism industry.

In the first instance, in appears as if more people are getting interested in international travels particularly for holidays and leisure. The chain effect of this on the economy is that there is more revenue coming in from the aviation sector. Also, as more people com into the countries for short visit as tourists, the hotels and hospitality sector of the economy also their hands busy with top north service delivery in order to satisfy their clients. Needless to say is the fact that the food and beverage sector also have their share of the revenue as tourists do not only give local food a try, they also buy to take back to their bases. Apart from this the art and creative industry's contributes significantly to the revenue generating pool due to the patronage the artifacts markets receives.

The major demerits of the tourism industry are security in nature. It was recorded that most of those responsible for bomb blasts in market places were terrorists who came in as tourists. Apart from this criminal elements smuggle illicit drugs into the country after securing their tourist visas.

I believe that if countries can tidy up the security and evolve creative means of ensuring that those they grant visas to are genuine tourists, we might just be entering another round of economic boom from tourism.