Nowadays most people are not as fit and active, as they were in the past. What are the main causes of this situation? Suggest some possible solutions.

In this modern world, the majority of the people have a sedentary lifestyle as compared to their ancestors and therefore, develop critical health-related issues such as obesity. In this essay, I will discuss the lack of physical exercise and consumption of unhealthy food as primary reasons behind this growing trend, and later, submit some viable solutions to deal with this situation.

People spend long hours in their sitting jobs to earn more money and compete with each other but at the cost of their physical well-being. In addition to this, they have become heavily reliant on electrical appliances such as washing machines, dishwashers and food processors and do not even indulge themselves in a passive form of exercise. On the other hand, our earlier generation was quite fit and healthy because of carrying out routine tasks with manpower. For example, in the past time, people had to walk long miles to their work and meet relatives but now people use means of transportation for long distances. Secondly, the food choice of the modern generation has changed and they consume plenty of junk food such as pizza, burger. These processed foods are not good for health and lead to many health problems such as obesity, sugar, a higher level of cholesterol. On the other side, our ancestors used to eat a homemade meal including all the nutrients. Therefore, we can say all these factors contribute to the poor physical health of the current generation.

A possible solution to this phenomenon would be to encourage people to adopt a healthy lifestyle including a balanced diet consisting of protein, vitamins, carbohydrates and essential minerals, and at least half an hour of workout daily. This could be done by spreading awareness by means of social media and educational programmes at the school level. Recently, the prime minister of India has uploaded his video of posing yoga on Twitter and that fit movement gained momentum in no time and motivated the whole nation to stay fit. Also, many IT companies nowadays are offering free gym memberships to their employees to promote a healthy lifestyle. Lastly, the government can impose higher taxes on junk food to reduce its consumption. This way people will stop purchasing such expensive food items and turn to homemade economical food.

To conclude, modern people are unfit and unhealthy due to their unhealthy food choices and lazy routine. Government initiatives in the form of public awareness and increased tax on fast food could help to reverse this popular trend.