Nowadays parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed.

What is the reason for doing this?

Is this a negative or positive development?

Today, being a competitive era, parents pressurize their wards to be successful in life. This definitely is a negative development as it could have an adverse effect on holistic development of the children. This essay tends to put forth the reasons for this undue pressure and would justify my stance on this controversial topic.

To commence with, competition to secure admission in the renowned institutions instill the parents to have high expectations from their children. The rat race of admitting their young ones to high profile educational institutions, is the result of ensuring better job opportunities for the child in the future. As such, parents want their children to perform higher in their studies. For instance, the cut-off in the Commerce stream of St. Stephen's college, Delhi was 99.25% this year only because a pass-out of that college, in the previous 10 years, had been able to secure a six figure package. Hence, parents want their children to secure marks above that level in order to obtain a seat there.

The trend of parents putting undue pressure on the wards has had a negative implications on the child's brain, as such, stress level among the young students, is on the rise. The students, succumbing to their parents desires, sometimes, find it difficult to cope up with adverse situations, thereby, indulge in unethical activities. A recent study in University of Cambridge concluded that 80% of the suicides committed by the teenagers is due to the fact that they could not achieve the desired results in their academics.

To conclude, job security by way of getting admission in top class colleges, is one of the major reasons of the pressure on students through their parents. This negative trend needs to be contained before it becomes the next pandemic-the mental health pandemic.