Nowadays people use social media to keep in touch with others and be aware of the news. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Among all the other breakthroughs in technology, the development of social networking sites stands a class apart. Presently, people render the services of these websites to contact with their close friends and family as well as keep abreast of the latest news. This essay will highlight both the merits and the demerits associate with using social media and will argue why the merits are ultimately superior.

Considering the negatives first, people might argue that the use of social media has the potential to cause digital dementia along with spreading fake news in an instant. The reason for such belief is that applications such as Facebook, Twitter and Instagram are designed in a way which makes their user use them for an extended period and causing signs of dementia in turn. In addition to this, since anyone can create a profile on such apps, the possibility to channelize fake news via them cannot be undermined. For instance, when an Iraqi Facebook user posted an altered report which claimed to disclose corruption in the Iranian education sector, riots broke up in the entire state causing damage in thousands of dollars. Thus, these mediums can be used in detrimental ways.

On the flip side, social networking sites made it easy than ever before to keep in touch with others and obtain up-to-date information. Compared to the past, when people have to wait for their morning newspaper to learn about the current news, now, at the touch of a button, they can obtain this information effortlessly, which has brought remarkable convenience. Moreover, applications like Facebook Messenger and Whatsaap enable people to do video calling and real-time chat that not only breaks the geographical barrier but also establish a sense of closeness in long-distance relationships. As far as the negatives are considered, it is up to a user’s discretion spending time surfing these apps and websites. Apart from this, as social media is constantly evolving, new measures have been taken to keep the false news in check, so the disadvantages carry little to no weight in them.

To conclude, the convenience social media has brought radically transformed the ways of information exchange and maintaining personal relationships. Even though it has trivial disadvantages, they get eclipsed by its astounding advantages.