Nowadays people usually retire at the age of 60 or 65, but some want to keep working as long as they can. Is this a positive or a negative development? Give you own opinion and relevant examples.

It is commonly observed that majority of the population in the world retires when they become sixty years old. However, some of them still prefer to continue serving the society instead of staying at home. I see this as a positive change and it would certainly have many benefits to the world.

If older generation continue to work, they would not be an excessive burden on the shoulders of younger generation. According to statistics average age of people is increasing around the world especially in the developed countries like Canada, Australia and japan. When these people retire at their sixties, youngsters have to bear their social benefits. this would definitely a disadvantageous situation to the future generation. Thus, we should allow our elders to work and contribute to the GDP of the country, as long as their health supports them and they have will to do so.

Other than financial perspective, there would be social benefits to elders if they continue working. Firstly, they could act as a role model or guide to youth at workplace which will provide them self-satisfaction. For instance, In japan, many people who are at their sixties prefer to go workplace and want to make themselves useful. Secondly, they would be healthier if they continue their social interaction at office. Studies have shown that people retirees who kept them engaged with in the social by working or doing volunteer work are healthier than their peers staying at old homes.

All in all, more and more people are opting to continue their career at their early sixties, I firmly believe that this is a positive development.This will not only strength the economy of the country, but also keep elders in a perfect health.