Some people use technology to take advice for their medical problems rather than seeing a doctor. Why this is so? It is positive or negative development according to you?

It has been observed that some people instead of visiting a professional practitioner, take health related advice from an advanced technology, such as the internet. This essay will analyze what are the prime motives behind this approach and would agree that this is a negative development to deal with the ailment.

There are various reasons behind consulting online-website to deal with health issues. Firstly, it is immensely time saving. Nowadays, pupils are leading a hectic life, and they do not have time to visit the consultant and wait in long queues. Instead, they just login on a website which prescribe them a drug, according to the disease searched. Secondly, hefty fees of consultants deter patients from visiting the doctors frequently. On the other hand, advice provided by online medium is mostly free of charge and instant. For instance, when I had common cold, I logged in on a reliable website and read recommended medicines.

However, this essay agrees that it is a negative approach to deal with a major disease. To begin with, information provided by internet on treating diseases is often misleading and conflicting. Thus, medicine referred by anonymous might lead to a plethora of side effects, and may worsen the medical condition of the patient. Online prescriptions are only reliable for minor ailments, such as cold, however, for precarious diseases like cancer, one must consult the specialist. Instead to comprising our health, we must visit professional who had years of experience diagnosing and treating life threatening diseases.

In conclusion, although choosing online resources over medical practitioner is convenient, time saving and less costly, I believe that this method has more demerits than the benefits it provides.