Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish.

Why do you think this is happening?

What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

People today are responsible for the waste materials produced. Increasing number of garbages are generated by some sort of human activities which have detrimental effect on the environment. There are several reasons why this is happening and governments can play a vital role to substantially supress this trend.

Rubbish are mainly caused by two factors. First, whenever people buy goods or items from marketplace they receive plastic bags with the item purchased. Moreover, the manufacturers wrap those items with plastic materials. Hence, people are forced to take the waste materials with them which consequently results in a large number of garbages. The next factor contributing to this alarming issue is the attitude of the people. People now are habituated to consuming as well as producing garbages. For instance, they feel easier to use plastic plates and cans for parties and day to day activities as they do not have to do their dishes afterward. Call it their lazyness or them being too busy with their life that they want to produce waste rather than wasting their so called valuable time.

Governments, however, can do a number of things to address this issue. To begin with, governments may force manufacturers to produce their items in reusable cans, bottles or boxes rather than non-reusable plastics. This would mean that the number of plastic garbages would drop drastically. Furthermore, awareness campaigns should be launched so as to enlighten the people about how their activities are degrading the environment and the surroundings they live in. TV programs and street plays would be very helpful in creating awareness among the people. Finally, governments can enforce strict laws against both manufacturers and consumers of plastic materials. This would automatically help in reducing the number of waste materials produced.

In conclusion, while there are several factors that have resulted in large amount of rubbish, governments if act proactively can have huge impact on changing this situation.